The Latest and Greatest



“Always together, Never apart. Maybe in distance, But never in heart”

So for this blog, I searched around my iTunes library to try to find a song that I could write about.  As I looked, I wanted to find a song that I could relate to, and talk about the deeper meaning of it.  My search came to an end when I found the perfect song for this blog.  The song that I discovered was Bruno Mars’ “Count on Me”.

Now before I go on any further, I want to give you a chance to listen to the song, so you’ll know what I’m talking about.

My favorite part of the song would have to be the chorus, and the topic of this blog.

“You can count on me like 1, 2, 3,

and I’ll be there.

And I know when  I need it I can count on you like 4, 3, 2

and you’ll be there, cause that’s what friends are supposed to do.”

Those few lines, that chorus really spoke to me when I first listened to this song.  It talks about a friendship that is so strong that the two friends can count on each other, no matter what.  When I heard this song, I thought about my friends, my real friends.  The ones I can count on, not the ones that I talk to in school about meaningless things.  Those friends are the “fair weather” kind of friends. Those are the people you can’t count on.  They are the people who when you need them the most, when you’re truly struggling, they won’t  come.  This song is not a song for those friends.

This song is about the best friends, the true friends.  It’s about the friends that you have such a tight bond with, that you know you can depend on them.  It’s someone who will be there through the good times, and the bad times.  Now, if someone is able to find one friend like this, then they’re set for life.  One real, true friend is all you need, and having someone like this is like finding a valuable treasure, and it’s your job to see that you never lose this treasure because you’ll be lost without it.

When I think of the definition of a real friend, when I listen to this song by Bruno Mars, a few individuals come to my mind.  These people are the friends that I call my best friends.  They’re the ones that I can go to with anything and I know they will always have my back, no matter what.  They’re certainly not “fair-weather” friends.  I can talk to them without fearing about being judged because I know that they will listen with open minds about what I have to say, and then they will try their best to make me feel better.  They have my back.

Those friends up in the previous paragraph are the people who I find myself lucky to have.  However, there is one person that stands out amongst everyone else.  This person is my best friend, truly.  We never argue seriously, if we do it’s always about the most stupid and pointless things, and we’re always kidding.  This person has always been there for me when I needed her.  When I have a bad day, I put a mask on to cover my feelings because I don’t want anyone to see that I’m upset.  I hate it when poeple see me vulnerable so I hide it.  I act like I’m okay, when in reality, on the inside I’m dying.  No one ever notices, but she does.  She sees through my mask, and asks me if I’m okay, and then she is always there to try to make everything better.  She knows me better than anyone else and she is truly my best friend.  Whenever we hang out, it is always the best time.  Whether we go out and meet up with other friends, or just sit at home and have a movie night, it’s always a blast.  We laugh so much that it feels as if our abs have been through a serious workout.  Sometimes, we’ll just sit there watching TV, without saying a word a the silence is perfectly okay with the both of us.  Like David Tyson Gentry once said,  “True friendship comes when the silence between two people is comfortable.”  We could sit there and not say a word to each other for an hour, and we can walk away like it’s the best conversation we’ve had.  She’s like a sister to me.  Just as she’s always there for me, as I will be there for her, “cause that’s what friends are supposed to do”.  No matter what the future brings, I know we will always be best friends.  Even when we grow up, and go our separate ways, we’ll always be friends.  Like the title states “Always together, never apart.  Maybe in distance, but never in heart”.  No matter what happens, we’ll be friends forever.

I love my friends.  They’re crazy, funny, and they always have my back.  The group of people I’m friends with will never be “fair weather” friends.  They won’t leave me alone when I feel my worst.  They’ll be there for me, as I will be there for them.  Having friends like this is truly the greatest thing in the world, and I’m so lucky and grateful that I have them.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * rachelway says:

    its such a cute song 🙂 and ya i feel the same way about my friends and family and without i dont know where or what i owuld be.

    | Reply Posted 13 years, 1 month ago


Leave a comment